Blog 3/08/24

Weekly Spotlight 3/8/24 – 3/14/24

Colorado, Historically a Strong 2A State, is Headed in the Wrong Direction

Colorado has a rich history as a pro-Second Amendment state, rooted in its frontier heritage and support for individual liberties.  Firearms were essential tools for survival and self-defense as pioneers navigated the state’s rugged terrain and, as a result, fostered a culture of self-reliance and responsible gun ownership.  The state has maintained that respect for law-abiding gun owners through the present day.  

Unfortunately, some elected officials have begun to divert from this tradition, as lawmakers in Denver have introduced a slate of gun-related bills that could undermine the rights of Colorado’s responsible gun owners.  There are two such bills that have caught our attention.

The first follows in the footsteps of California, the state with perhaps the most stringent laws governing gun ownership, which is never a good sign.  Senate Bill 131, introduced by Senator Chris Kolker (D-Centennial), would prohibit the carrying of firearms by gun owners with lawful permits in so-called “sensitive spaces.”  

Altogether, there are 19 different types of public places where carrying a gun would be fully banned.  Creating these types of gun-free zones do nothing to curb violent crime – criminals already have no respect for the rule of law and they would not be deterred by signage saying “no guns.”  Furthermore, they create vulnerable targets that evil or mentally ill individuals could deliberately seek out to inflict maximum destruction, as we saw in the tragedy of the 2012 Aurora movie theater shooting.  Gun-free zones have always been completely ineffective, no matter how well-intentioned they might be.  

The second piece of legislation that could unfairly target law-abiding gun owners is being labeled a “backdoor gun tax” that unfairly singles out law-abiding gun owners with new financial burdens.  The proposal would force any Coloradan who owns a gun to carry what’s known as self-defense liability insurance (SDLI), with fines of anywhere from $500 to $1000 for failing to do so.  While SDLI is something that responsible gun owners should seriously consider if they carry regularly, there is absolutely no reason for the government to mandate it.  These types of nanny-state policies do not foster a culture of responsible gun ownership, they gradually decay self-responsibility. 

The USCCA-FSL Action Fund is closely tracking these two bills – and numerous others from states around the nation – so you can have a one-stop shop for staying informed and engaged on important Second Amendment issues.  To that end, we hope you’ll check out our new state legislation tracker to stay updated on these extremely misguided bills out of The Centennial State. 

Check out our NEW state legislation tracker!


“Despite detractors’ attempts to twist facts, constitutional carry will make Louisiana communities safer by empowering more law-abiding citizens to protect themselves and their families,” Katie Pointer Baney, Managing Director of Government Affairs for the USCCA, said in an email to “Responsibly armed Americans understand that exercising a right does not eliminate personal responsibility. Firearms education and training remain fundamental to their ability to protect themselves and others. The constitutional carry movement, and the positive results we’ve seen in other states, underscore this principle.”

Palmetto State lawmakers officially became the latest to do away with permitting requirements for public gun-carry. The South Carolina Senate passed H. 3594 by a 28-18 vote on Wednesday. The measure will allow adults eligible to own a handgun to carry it in public, openly or concealed, without a permit. It now heads to the desk of Governor Henry McMaster (R.), who has pledged to sign it into law.

Gun advocates struggled to convince a federal appellate panel Wednesday that California laws banning gun sales at state facilities trigger constitutional protections under the First Amendment, or a historical reading-based application of the Second Amendment. The US Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit was hearing appeals of separate lawsuits challenging the constitutionality of laws that bar the sales of firearms, ammunition, and precursor parts at public facilities in Orange and San Diego counties. 

Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM) signed two bills aimed at restricting gun usage in the state into law on Monday, months after she attempted to limit the right to carry firearms in most public places. House Bill 129 (which extends the waiting period to purchase a firearm in the state to seven days) and Senate Bill 5 (which bans firearms within 100 feet of a polling place or ballot box) were both signed into law by the governor of New Mexico, alongside two other bills that increased penalties for violent crimes.